Remember When…?

It has been two months since Grandma B passed away. Her birthday was last Friday, so in her memory, my Sister J coordinated a Family Game Day at the local bowling alley. Back in the day, Grandma and Grandpa were quite the bowlers, belonging to a league and all! My sister has fun memories of us bowling with Grandma during the summer. She thought it would be super-fun for all of us to get together again and go bowling – spouses and all – for Grandma’s birthday. Almost all were in attendance, with exception for Big Brother M (had to fly to Chicago) and Baby N and his parents (too smokey for an almost 5 month old). We had a great time though. I even broke 100! Woohoo!! Sasha agrees…we’re going to have to go bowling more often. It was really fun.

Two things I forgot to bring with me that day…..#1, my bowling ball….and #2, my camera. Yes, I said it….my bowling ball….I am the proud owner of a dingy, old, orange bowling ball. If you look closely, you will see the name “Debbie” stamped into it. I have no idea who Debbie is, but I’m sure she was an outstanding bowler. I bought the ball for cheap-cheap at a local thrift store many years ago. Came with it’s own bag  and shoes too. Eeeeee! The bag is not nearly as gorgeous as the ball – quite hideous actually – but it serves its purpose well. The lovely old yellow shoes…(ack)…well they were tossed immediately!

So Grandma B, here’s to you! Happy Birthday!

About Blue Sky Happy

Learning to make our own happiness every day. Hoping to, one day soon, adopt a sweet lil' one.

2 comments

  1. I’m sure Grandma B could have given you some good pointers. I wish I could have made it. I still remember 2 huge words of bowling advice she would tell me that I still remind myself of when bowling. How in the world did you forget that awesome bowling ball? It looks like the sun – it’s a ball of FIRE! I bet it makes the lanes smoke if you throw it fast enough. Next time, next time.

Leave a Reply

