Spring is definitely on it’s way!

In Like a Lion, Out Like a Lamb
by Lorie Hill

March roars in like a lion
So fierce,
The wind so cold,
It seems to pierce.

The month rolls on
And Spring draws near,
And March goes out
Like a lamb so dear.

March certainly rolled in like a lion this year! I think I heard more than 100 tornadoes were reported in this past weeks storm. Sounds unreal. Our hearts and prayers go out to all the victims and their families. I admit to being a big chicken when it comes to severe weather. My heart races and I immediately try to find a safe place to hunker down. We do our best to plan for emergencies in our house, so we have water, food, first aid kits, blankets and extra cloths stored in our basement. We hope we never have to use it in an emergency situation, but we’re glad we have it.

This years unseasonably warm end to winter has me terribly distracted, which in some ways, is a good thing. This March marks two years since our miscarriage. Hard to believe it’s been that long. We also had received some exciting news not too long ago….a birthmother had contacted us regarding the possibility of adopting her baby. Needless to say, she has since changed her mind. That was hard on us. We probably let ourselves get a little too excited, a little too quickly … but she had to do what felt right in her heart. Anyway, back to the warm weather distraction…..

Our project list is already growing for this spring/summer. A few projects are already started…some only in the beginning stages. This past weekend, we figured out how to replace the wobbly column on our front porch. It is still in need of finishing trimwork and paint, but it’s up and structurally sound. Once we stood back and looked at it, we realized it had a smooth front and the two other remaining posts have decorative grooves. Ha! Not really looking forward to replacing ALL the columns, but we can’t have mismatched fronts! We also plan to move the raised garden beds in the backyard to the opposite side of the yard and possibly plant apples trees in their place…we are constructing a rain barrel to help water all our plants (it’s going to be awesome!)…we purchased the the wood trim pieces necessary to finish-out our dining area with Board and Batton…and we’re planning on a little gutter gardening as well. Yes, I said gutter gardening! If all goes well, I post pics when things start growing. Speaking of growing…after reading a few other blogs, I was inspired to get a move-on and start planting seeds for our garden. This week, our little seedling started to make their appearance. We planted carrots, tomatoes and basil. Unfortunately, I didn’t label them, so we’ll have to wait to see what is what. I think these little chubby looking guys are probably the basil.

Now, I have the nudging and whining from a certain little yellow labrador who wants to play. She’s been sleeping by my feet while I’ve been on the computer. Seems that now, she feels, it’s time for me to shut’er down. I can’t deny this sweet little pupper-dog face. Must go.

Be safe, and don’t forget to move your clocks forward this weekend!!! Spring is on our doorstep. Yay!

Last nights rain showers were a welcome drink to my many bulbs.

About Blue Sky Happy

Learning to make our own happiness every day. Hoping to, one day soon, adopt a sweet lil' one.

2 comments

  1. I’ve read about gutter gardening and it sounds so fun. One day I will have to give it a go too. Let us know your results if you get the time to get it going.

    My daffodils came up and now my tulips are appearing. I LOVE BULBS. I little effort in the fall and zero-effort of spring color pops up every year. They make me smile.

    • We’ve got the crocus’s still sorta going, but piddling out…daffodils are all bright-eyed…tulips are beginning to show their colors…and then wait, there is one more….!!!

Leave a Reply

